The End: Battlestar Gallactica’s Finale

03.2009 at 1:04 pm 1 comment

How long have we been waiting and dreading the end of the Battlestar Gallactica series? If you haven’t been waiting or dreading the end, then you should stop reading, and I don’t like you. I think I’ve spent the last few years on the edge of my seat, waiting for the series to end, waiting to see if they reach earth, waiting for the end. It’s finally come, and I’ve seen the final episode of an awesome series. My heart is relieved, joyed, and sad.

There’s no doubt that the series makes you think about humanity and how we treat each other. The ending provokes very intense passions. What I liked most about the ‘Daybreak’, the final episode, was they made a huge effort to bring resolution. They spent a long time, showing the end for each character. They added some surprises and twists, but, in the end, you were left satisfied that it was over and they had found a home. What I didn’t like is that no one was happy, no one. It makes sense, but it leaves a heavy feeling on your soul when no one finds happiness. There is a sense of completeness and freedom, but, overall, they are a broken people. They separate, go their own way, and suffer their losses alone. I guess that suits the show well, as that’s really what humans do sometimes.

Oddly enough, the moment in that final episode where I did tear up was when Baltar cried in his last scene. I really felt the weight of the series crashed down. I really felt the weight of the emotional journey they had all come on. James Callis did a wonderful job at acting that moment.

I’d have to say Saul Tigh was my favourite character. He had so many layers and dimensions, and it is not easy to act with only one eye, bravo!

Here’s a link to video blogs of the actors while they were shooting the final episode. It was very interesting to hear what the actors had to say. I was surprised at the difference in Apollo’s accent and that Rosalin was not video taped – strange.

http://www.scifi.com/battlestar/video/?sub=blog

There’s so much more that could be said, but I’ll leave it with this: I loved the series. The actors were inspiring, the storyline thought-provoking, the action so very passionate. Well done. I’ll never forget it.

Entry filed under: Smoking of Pipeweed: being thoughtful.

Worf’s Happy Song Shakespeare in the Park

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. truth9  |  03.2009 at 9:21 pm

    I guess you don’t like Amanda then. I was waiting for the end, but only because I didn’t want to start watching the thing until it was over. Now I suppose I can start doing that.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


March 2009
S M T W T F S
« Feb   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Categories

Recent Posts

Archives


